21st-Century Librarian Award

Dear Colleague,

We would like to call your attention to the third annual competition for the 21st-Century Librarian Award. This award recognizes librarians who have been leaders in the evolution of the profession in the new information environment. The award is a project of the Master of Library Science (MLS) students at Syracuse University's School of Information Studies.

The 21st-Century Librarian Award carries a cash prize of $5000. This year a second award will also honor a 21st-Century New Librarian, with a cash prize of $1000. Applicants for this award should be in their first three years of post-MLS working experience.

Candidates for the award should be nominated either by another party or by themselves by December 1st, 2002. Please visit our website for more details on how to nominate, award criteria, and other information (http://21stcentury.syr.edu). All application procedures will be handled via Web forms, which will be available in October 2002. Questions can be addressed to: libaward@syr.edu.

We would also like to ask for your help in publicizing this award widely.

Thank you for your help in raising awareness of the important role that librarians play in the 21st Century.


Abby Goodrum
Assistant Professor and Director
Master of Library Science Program

Peyina Lin
Student Project Chair